Georgina Pioneer Village and Archives
At the request of the Georgina Historical Society, the Town of Georgina passed a resolution in 1974 setting aside ten acres of land as the permanent site for what would become the Georgina Pioneer Village & Archives.
Officially inaugurated by Chief of the Chippewa of Georgina Island, Lorenzo Big Canoe, on Thanksgiving Day, 1975, the Village opened with two buildings: a backwoods log house constructed circa 1870, and a Free Methodist Church built in 1889. A succession of buildings has been moved to the Pioneer Village between the late 1970s and 1999.
Located near the south shore of beautiful Lake Simcoe, this ten-acre site is now home to sixteen structures that interpret the rich history of Georgina between 1850 and 1920, including a one-room schoolhouse, a general store, a train station, a blacksmith shop, an apothecary, among other significant historic structures.
Workshops and craft activities are offered in the fall and winter, and school programs are available in the fall and spring. Costumed Interpreters are on-site during special events and festivals. Summer Season visitors may pick a self-guided tour booklet at the Village Welcome Centre.