McDougall Mill Museum

Partager ce site:

Heures d'ouverture
  • Open from June to August, 10 AM to 5 PM.
Frais d'entrée
  • Adults: $2 Under 16 years old: $1 Under 7 years old: Free
  • Partially Accessible
  • Parking
  • Guided Tours

The Renfrew and District Historical and Museum Society operates the McDougall MIll Museum. Nestled on the banks of the Bonnechere river by the Swinging Bridge our museum holds three packed floors of artefacts. The top floor features a military display, the largest collection of wedding dresses in the Valley, and period clothing for children's dress up. The main floor is an eclectic collection of Renfrew memoralbia. The lower floor highlights industry, agriculture, lumbering, and household appliances from the local area.

  The most celebrated artefact is the museum itself. Built in 1855 by fur trader and Hudson's Bay Company agent John Lorne McDougall as a grist mill it has been operated by the Society as a museum since 1969.


TypeCommunity Museum | Historic Building